Bay View Resort

Bay View Resort Reviews

Reviews 2415
3.8
Reviews 2415 Page 21 of 25
Filters:
Rating
Language
Sort:
Most recent

Got there and they couldn't find my reservation. H...

Got there and they couldn't find my reservation. Had already paid 190.52 of the 571. They ended up giving me another room facing the street. I settled for it. Had to prove from my bank statement that I had already paid. During the last night of my 3 day stay they started calling me at 3am until I checked out claiming I owed them for the first night..mind you, I had already paid 190.52, 386 remaining balance, and another 100 that they have to hold. The Caucasian lady with red or orange hair really didn't care she just didn't want the mistake under her name. It was my birthday weekend and I was very disappointed. I never play about money, and what I owe. I will not be going back, and will wait a week before I dispute the holding fee..

Bathroon was not clean at all, found false fingern...

Bathroon was not clean at all, found false fingernails and trash in the family room not adequately vacuumed. NO housekeeping service!!! stayed three days only received housekeeping services two days.
No towels and no trash pick up.
Nice place but housekeeping is horrible!!

We stayed here because we didn't want to pay an ar...

We stayed here because we didn't want to pay an arm and a leg but also didn't want bottom of the barrel and the reviews seemed okay for the most part. We were visiting family and were really only staying here for a place to sleep.

Pros - the staff we've encountered are very friendly & wonderful. The size of the TV is nice. The beach access is great & the view from the room is beautiful. The first night we were here was ended with fireworks off the pier to right if you're looking out to the ocean. They offer coupons to a lot of things & the location is a 10 minute walk to the boardwalk. Also, they have a parking garage that you have to have your hotel room key to get into and I've seen hotel staff in & out of the deck throughout the day so it seems to be pretty secure.

Cons - The AC is terrible. The lowest it will go is 70*. Optimal sleeping temperatures are roughly 64-68* and 70* can get kinda warm at night making sleeping difficult. The remote to the TV didn't work properly (the decrease volume button wouldn't work). The closet door was off it's track & the refrigerator in the room was really loud & keeps waking you up throughout the night when turning on & off. The door to the balcony is pretty much soundproof & if it's closed you aren't hearing the ocean (which is fine), however, the door to the hallway? Not so much, 7am you hear doors slamming & people loudly talking. The room comes with a coffee maker & some coffee, but nothing to put the coffee in.

And lastly, something they can't control: the other guests. We left our room & were heading towards the elevator & there was a group of 2 females & 1 male. The male was holding the elevator for us and as I got close I heard 1 of the females say "what are you doing close the doors" and he said "I think there's people coming" and she said "are they white or black?" and I heard him quietly say white and she said "aw naw, close that door, let's go." I don't treat people of color like that ever and I was appalled at that type of blatant racism. I know they can't control that, but I won't be staying at a location with blatantly racist clientele (of any sort, yes, I wouldn't feel okay if I saw this happen the other way around, I don't tolerate ignorance). Next time, I'll pay a little more somewhere else and hopefully be around a higher class of people.

I will never stay here again I check on Dec 10th t...

I will never stay here again I check on Dec 10th that night I got bit by bed bugs all over my hands back leg and all have threw my clothes away cause they was In side of them ...... don't waste y'all time please every one was friendly and helpful but the manager very rude

The Hotel was Amazing the room had a balcony overl...

The Hotel was Amazing the room had a balcony overlooking the ocean and that was what i needed!!
the room was small but comfortable afterall who goes to sit in the room?
The excitment of some of the guests was a little overwhelming i saw alot of people going in without guest cards they just waited until someone came out and bounced in like they owned the place it was a week after graduation but the staff was Great

Location: Great, parking: great. Both are 5 star. ...

Location: Great, parking: great. Both are 5 star. Resort could use some touch up -- especially the elevators. That being said, it is a nice place and the room was comfortable. The bedspread did have a small hole in it but it was clean.

Elevators are hot and humid. But honestly room was...

Elevators are hot and humid. But honestly room was clean. Ocean view. Starbucks next door. Pizza and mini mart across the street. Beach access chairs cool. Didn't use pool. Too many kids. Too much chlorine.

Worst hotel in myrtle beach simply because of serv...

Worst hotel in myrtle beach simply because of service. Called to make our reservation in the afternoon and gave our credit card information and everything to book. Upon arrival at 9:30 at night we were told we couldn t check in because neither of us were 25. I am 22 and my boyfriend is 24. No one checked with us on the phone or informed us of their new policy that apparently went in to place 2 weeks ago. And they had already charged the full price of the room on our credit card and offered nothing to make up for the major inconvenience of not having a hotel at 9:30pm. Worst customer service I ve ever had to deal with.

**response post owner comment**
I have no problem with your policy. My issue is with the fact we were not informed before arrival. That policy is not normal and therefore you should be letting guests who are making reservation aware of it, and verify their age.

And we had a wonderful stay actually 1 mile south of this complex at Compass Cove, they had so many pools, multiple lazy rivers, a tiki bar, great beach access, and amazing customer service. I would fully recommend anyone staying in Myrtle Beach to chose that hotel. Also the area surrounding it seemed way safer. While we were a few minutes south of the boardwalk, the surrounding area and hotel service made up for it.

Make sure u get a room on the ocean side, not on t...

Make sure u get a room on the ocean side, not on the side view closest to South Bay Inn bcuz there is garbage over there that smells so awful and we could not enjoy the balconies even though the room had 2 of them and the ocean view on that side is super restricted. Pool is too small, but otherwise, it was very nice and we loved the location! Definitely will return but will never stay on that side of the building again.

I checked in on 9/18/2020 and I've been meaning to...

I checked in on 9/18/2020 and I've been meaning to call and reach out to you guys. The room I had 704A , was barely cleaned. If customers have to sign a waiver for Covid-19 the staff/housekeeping needs to table all measures to keep us safe. I had to clean the bathroom and the kitchen. The toilet seat wasn't clean and the shower curtain was filthy and appeared to have blood stains on it or something. The kitchen wasn't too bad but still had to clean the sink and counter tops. The tv or remote didn't work the tv kept saying error ...

This resort was hardly a resort feeling. We had bo...

This resort was hardly a resort feeling. We had booked a ocean view and the only. Ire was the construction building. The room was dirty, dingy smelling, and the furnishings were old stained and rusty. We called fd and we're moved to the other side of the building. The vier was better you could see the ocean but only by turning your body and neck. The 2nd room was pretty much the same. It was dirty, smelly, old stained couches, chairs. We also had a clogged toilet in this room. We saw roaches crawling by the balcony. Nobody wanted to touch anything. We stripped the beds down to the sheets only. Definitely did not sit on the couch or chairs in the room. Kitchenette was useless bc we feared cleanliness of anything in there. The fridge had items from previous guests. We didn't even shower in the room. Basically we stayed a very uncomfortable night in the room slept on the bed with sheets only. Did not use any other area of the room. There is barely a lobby area to check in or out people are crowded i that area barely able to move. The pool even looked like it hadn't been cleaned. It was not clear it was hazy and cloudy.prices paid for the room are definitely not worth the value. I would definitely never return to this hotel ever again!

We were in room 1006 from 6/10-6/12. We were supp...

We were in room 1006 from 6/10-6/12. We were supposed to stay for 7 days but left early. The room was run down and had black mold in the master shower. Our balcony smelled like cigarettes and pot. The elevators took forever. With Covid-19 there was never anyone cleaning the common areas. The hotel was packed and we were the only ones wearing masks. There was a lot of noise in the hallways at night and fireworks going off in the middle of the night. Tons of seedy people hanging around the outside of the hotel to the point of us not feeling safe. The location of the parking garage is across the street and a block up. You need to walk past drug infested motels to get to the hotel. I wish we did more research on the area. It is not safe at all. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. I m thankful we got out of there and into a beautiful hotel in a different area. Check the news to see what happened across the street on 6/12.

Clean

Good

We stayed from June 6-10. The location could not h...

We stayed from June 6-10. The location could not have been better, it was perfect. The elevators were HORRIBLE. There is only 4 total, and 2 were down the 3rd day and we had to walk up stairs with 3 kids (ages 1,3, & 6) 15 flights due to being on the 15th floor. The upside of being on that floor was the view. It was gorgeous, when you walked in the room and looked out the sliding glass doors, it looked like you were on the ocean. Plus, the balconies are huge compared to the others I seen for oceanfront. We could easily sit 6 people comfortably.
The room was small, the bathroom was about as big as the room, which was good for the bathroom but bad for the room. The room cleanliness was "straightened up" not clean. I found a diabetic test strip on the floor... so gross. But they did get us in fairly quick and it was busy.
The parking is across the street, but it is very safe which was relieving. Only thing was unloading and loading up luggage. There was not much room in the front entrance, maybe 6 or 7 cars at a time, and are there for 20 minutes at a time for loading purposes.
The staff was lovely, outdoor splash park was pretty cool, wish they had an outdoor pool. The indoor lazy river, pool and jacuzzi were great, kind of small but still great.
I would probably stay here again, if my kids were older, or it was just me and my husband.

Got a condo/suite style room with 2 bedroom with 2...

Got a condo/suite style room with 2 bedroom with 2 beds in eachroom room but when we got there it was only one bedroom and 2 beds. Let the front desk know and was told that what we booked for was only one bedroom. Ended up having to show them the post on their website and the amount we paid for, clearly on the website it was 2 bedroom and 2 beds in each. She did worked with us and gave us a new room with 2 bedroom( 2 full beds + king size bed). The location was nice! It was close to boardwalk so didn't have to do much driving around. Only bad thing was one of our hair dryer didn't even work and the lights in one of our bathroom was out.

Great location and the prices are really good out ...

Great location and the prices are really good out of season. Indoor pool and small lazy river were nice. Has a small mushroom pool for little kids, def could use an upgrade for kids. Front staff were friendly and the room was pretty nice. The TVs were smaller than most hotels and resorts I ve stayed at. Unfortunately there s no room service and no milk available for kids. The housekeeping was absolutely horrendous. Beds weren t turned, which I really didn t care about, but the towels were not replaced and the housekeeping staff left the pile of dirty towels on the floor. The placard said dirty towels on floor meant replacement, but that didn t happen. Overall I would recommend this hotel, but if you re looking for more things for your kids then check out South Bay.

More

Bay View is great for kids. The whole pool area is...

Bay View is great for kids. The whole pool area is kid friendly with the pool only going to 4 ft and the colorful outside sprinkler area. The manager Cory was very nice and they keep the place clean. Very happy with my recent trip.

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in ...

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in Myrtle Beach. The room was dirty and I killed 2 roaches and was on the 10th floor. They have bed bugs and I stayed 4 days no one ever came to clean the room. The staff was hateful and just an all around terrible experience. They don't seem to care if you are upset and I have yet to see a refund of anything and complained when I left they laughed in my face. I will tell everyone I see to stay away from this nasty place!!

Very nice hotel and close to boardwalk. Reasonably...

Very nice hotel and close to boardwalk. Reasonably priced and good views from room. Highly recommend for anyone wanting to be close to all the action. We was able to walk to most everything. Loved the location!

The room was amazing. Very spacious and lots of am...

The room was amazing. Very spacious and lots of ammenities. We also loved that the hotel was right on the board walk. However, the indoor swimming pool was very shallow and not that big. A good swimming pool is a must for us. Overall this was a great hotel and would stay there again.

The room is extremely small, dirty, will not walk ...

The room is extremely small, dirty, will not walk barefoot on the dirty carpet. Rust on the lights, holes in the bedspread, and way too much money for the horrible room we got. The outside grounds, pool, lobby are beautiful. I took pictures of the dirt, but cannot post them.

Awesome

Everything is good other then the elavators they a...

Everything is good other then the elavators they are super slow and so.etime skip your floor other then that service is good pools are good and most importantly the rooms are good that depends on which one you bought

Decent resort. Excellent location. Rooms were clea...

Decent resort. Excellent location. Rooms were clean, things were a little out dated but definitely serviceable and didn't affect the trip. We had a queen suite which had a washer dryer so that was nice. Housekeeping was par for what you would expect. We were there for a week, most days our room was serviced first thing in the morning while we were out getting breakfast. Towels were the only issue but if you called they were usually good about dropping them off. Elevators were somewhat annoying and slow but look- its a huge resort. Its 15 floors and people are coming and going at all times of the day. So the elevators take a long time to go up and down. There are only 4 of them. They are sometimes crammed, its hot, its August. It is what it is. Didnt use the pools much. They are filled with kids and its loud because the pool area is enclosed and the noise echos but what else do you expect? It was fine. The fitness center was a joke- that is in def need of an upgrade. The location was great. located on 5th ave its right in the heart of pretty much everything. The boardwalk runs from the 2 piers (2nd ave and 14th ave) most of the action is between 8th and 14th so its just a few blocks away. Beach is steps from the resort. Beaches were beautiful. It was good not great.

Cool

very nice "resort" in an awful part of town. dange...

very nice "resort" in an awful part of town. dangerous at times. I wouldn't want my (future) children to be in the area well known for illegal activities and very high crime rates, armed criminals, and heavy police patrol all within a couple blocks. Starbucks is next door, so that's a DEFINITE plus, but you can't use the Starbucks app at that location. very very close to the ocean, the boardwalk, and several beachwear stores.

Ok

One of the reasons we booked this resort was becau...

One of the reasons we booked this resort was because of the reviews we saw. Once we got there, we realized we made a mistake. Customer service is not great. Cleanliness of resort is very poor. Original room we got smelled like cigarettes so they switched us to another room. The location was the best part as well as the Starbucks downstairs. Place needs remodeling. Try other options first.

I stayed here from Nov 9 to Nov 11 (2013) with my ...

I stayed here from Nov 9 to Nov 11 (2013) with my wife and daughter (3 and half); it was awesome. Rooms, oceanfront view, kitchen, hotel staff - everything was just perfect. My room was 'Oceanfront condo'.

BTW - Weather was more than warm in the late morning and noon here at Myrtle Beach.

Hotel tips: If you are habitual of staying barefoot in your house; you perhaps can't do that here; floors were not that clean.

This is our second time staying at Bay View. They ...

This is our second time staying at Bay View. They never disappoint! Nice comfy rooms. Big enough to accommodate our needs. We used the room with handicapped bathroom. The suite was large enough to push the wheelchair around easily. Nice roll in shower and handicap shower with bars. This makes it easy for our family.

I called the front desk to ask about a pizzeria do...

I called the front desk to ask about a pizzeria down the street and the employee hug up on me. I call back and was hug up on two more times my husband and I had stayed there four times and were happy with their services but we will never stay there again.

Awsome

Back from my vacation and it was fun.My family and...

Back from my vacation and it was fun.My family and i had a two bedroom oceanfront condo the view is amazing. The staff is very friendly. Tangela at front desk was great.My family and I was very pleased and happy with our stay. We will definitely stay here again. Our housekeeper on the 9 floor was amazing. Our room was done first thing in the mornings. We will definitely be back.

We have come to this hotel for years now and this ...

We have come to this hotel for years now and this time just is not good. We will never be coming back. The room is dirty the couch is filthy and has holes in it. It is not very family friendly anymore. We will be taking our business somewhere else.

Elevators slow or broke because they're aren't eno...

Elevators slow or broke because they're aren't enough, a glass broke inside the dishwasher, the bathroom light stopped working on checkout day, our room had no windows in it. There wasn't enough glasses for a family of four. The lazy river is so small. We're not going back

Elevators are slow, staff instructed guest to push...

Elevators are slow, staff instructed guest to push both up and down buttons at the same time causing grid lock lots of the time. Rooms were two hours behind when checking in and we had a car load of food that was partially wasted.

Also is a rough part of town. Stay elsewhere!!

I have never seen a guest room where you have to s...

I have never seen a guest room where you have to share a AC unit, my room was hot so I had to go to Walmart and buy a fan. When I called guest services about it she told me there was nothing she could do about that the air was working and the reason it was hot was because the guest in the other room had their ac unit set on 75 degrees. I feel she should have offered me another room that didn't share ac units. A vacation is to relax and rest but that was hard to do with it being hot in my room. I know you all could really care less for you have already received your money from my reservation, but I will not be using your hotel for any more reservations. Thank you and good day!