Holiday Inn Express- Downtown Charleston

Holiday Inn Express- Downtown Charleston Reviews

Reviews 671
3.4
Contact us
Reviews 671 Page 6 of 7
Filters:
Rating
Language
Sort:
Most recent

Clean but needed a few updates. Our AC unit kept m...

Clean but needed a few updates. Our AC unit kept making horrible noises throughout the night and another AC unit above the guest entrance was pouring water over the door. Breakfast was great.

Worst hotel experience ever. Had to wait SIX HOUR...

Worst hotel experience ever. Had to wait SIX HOURS to check in. Rooms were not available due to housekeeping staff. Ebony at the front LIED to us and corporate. People at the Corp level lied and avoided speaking with us.
Finally a lady named Amanda helped but what TERRIBLE experience!!!

They never told me that there is construction righ...

They never told me that there is construction right next to it. Parking is gravel. You just facing reality,have no choice. Cuz hard to find something else after 10 hours drive. In the morning everybody walking true the breakfast area. It's not separate. Big disappointing.

Our stay was lovely, but I have a recommendation f...

Our stay was lovely, but I have a recommendation for improvement. They could be more environmentally friendly. Having reusable cups and plates available for breakfast would be nice. Loved that they had complimentary grooming supplies if you needed them (shaving cream, razor, comb, etc).

Once again we visited our favorite city: Chatlesto...

Once again we visited our favorite city: Chatleston, SC. This time we stayed at the Holiday inn Express at 250 Spring st. We had a wonderful experience! It is very close to Downtown and easy access to any place in Charleston. Tyler Dockery greeted us at check-in and he was really fast, helpful and efficient. We will definitely stay their again!

I will only give 1 star because of the front desk ...

I will only give 1 star because of the front desk staff checking in and as we checked out! They was very helpful, it said 100% non smoking but I found a cup with a cigarette with water behind the night stand and my cover had a cigarette burn when I brought it to the attention of the front desk with no hesitation she changed my room but got to the next room you can tell housekeeping clearly doesn t keep up with the rooms, pee was on the floor behind the toilet so we only stayed 1 night out of the 4 nights we was supposed to stay when I came down to check out the young lady was very short with me but she refunded me I didn t even want breakfast because the young man in breakfast was very rude and loud as if he hated what he does I really think it s best that this hotel which you should change your name to super 8 having all the construction and poor housekeeping for the rate I had I d rather pay 69 I ll never stay here again

1 star for the small refund for a scary night stay...

1 star for the small refund for a scary night stay. Switched to Marriott around the corner. Hotel was in middle of rennovation and they shouldn't be taking guest on many floors. Hot water took 20 minutes.

A friendly staff was the primarily reason i gave i...

A friendly staff was the primarily reason i gave it 3 stars. One of the two treadmills didnt turn on, my room had no mini fridge (?!) and the rate was fairly steep, given the location and aforementioned issues.

Clean.

The HVAC unit control panel was broken. I was lock...

The HVAC unit control panel was broken. I was locked out of my room because the latch flipped when I shut the door. The hallways and rooms are old and outdated. I will not stay here again. I am actually looking for another hotel as I write this!

Having ear surgery I asked them for first floor qu...

Having ear surgery I asked them for first floor quiet they r doing construction and my room is right there . Roaches, German cockroaches. Not sanitary for surgery. Any way I asked for first floor because I'm having my ear drum replaced. So this morning I'm on the flourth floor. Not accommodating at all. Very disappointed.

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. I would...

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. I would rather sleep in my car any day before I would ever stay here again. Found fleas in my bed, got bite marks all over my legs can t stop itching from the bites. Would have left but hoilday weekend all other hotels are booked up.Told staff he said he wasn t surprised and gave me another room, second room had hair in the bed and on the towels in bathroom not clean at all. Called staff same man said he still wasn t surprised and gave me a third room. Management want here at this time. Told management a bout the inconvenience offered a discount and told me they would call me but they lied didn t hear anything else from them. Just awful ruined my vacation. Run stay away whatever you do don t stay here save your money unless you like sleeping in a dirty room with hair and fleas.

The hotel room and staff were very friendly and he...

The hotel room and staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very close to downtown, although not quite close enough to walk all the way. The only reason for four stars is that there is great deal of construction happening around the hotel and it made it very loud and crowded. Over all, we had a great time and would recommend staying here again.

The bed frame fell apart and dumped me on the floo...

The bed frame fell apart and dumped me on the floor, shower hand rail came out of the wall, other guests park in the grass next to the balcony, and watch out for the A/C above the back entrance that will rain on you while transiting. Also no sidewalk at the back entrance just mud and dog doo. Only good thing was the morning breakfast.

On the surface this place looks like a great deal ...

On the surface this place looks like a great deal but its definitely not. Its almost like Hilton brand came in and tried to "dress" up a sub par property by replacing some furniture but not fixing any of the major issues. First off everything around this property is under construction so just getting iun and out is a major hassle, and forget trying to park anywhere that feels remotely secure. Security is non existent. The two exterior doors on our floor were both unlocked so that anyone could walk in at anytime. The patio door in our room would not lock but thankfully had a security bar. We requested a higher floor but were still given a ground floor. The a c unit is like something borrowed from an early 90s motel 6. It clicked on an off every few minutes and made the room feel like a swamp no matter what temp we changed it to. We actually booked two nights but will be leaving after our meeting tomorrow. I would rather drive home a day early than spend another night here.

Idk

Would not help at all. Had a major sick husband. C...

Would not help at all. Had a major sick husband. Could not get a room for three and a half hours. If that is the way you treat customers you need to close your doors. The round Holiday Inn went out of their way to help us. Shame on you.

The room's we're very clean, and the bathroom was ...

The room's we're very clean, and the bathroom was amazing. Only thing was, you could not go onto the balcony, and if you tried to unlock the door you would get charged, overall it was a great experience.

Booked through Priceline. Arrived late -check in q...

Booked through Priceline. Arrived late -check in quick and easy. Asked for $10 deposit for snack area despite only staying overnight for procedure at MUSC with no intention of using snack area.

Very dusty lampshades. (Have allergies)

Very dusty lampshades. (Have allergies)
Climate control filthy vent, and would not even turn on.
Bed dust-ruffle torn and frayed.
Curtain bottom corner torn and frayed.
Closet door off track. Could not open or close.
No water for about two hours one morning-when we needed to shower, of course....

Wish I could post photos. Took a few.

Was was good.... clean sheets, comfy bed.
No, will not stay here again.

Beware of this hotel. Very shady business at this ...

Beware of this hotel. Very shady business at this hotel. Three nights in a row they tried to triple charge my card after someone mixed up the charge amount. They added 6 or 7 extra charges to my cost that were not applicable. And once I sorted this at check out, and paid off the final amount. 3 weeks later they charged my card an extra $60s out of the blue without any explanation. Be careful with your cards and make sure to check for any strange fees.

This location is nice and clean and felt freshly r...

This location is nice and clean and felt freshly renovated. It's walking distance to a grocery store which was wonderful.

The McDonald's ostensibly in the parking lot was our view, and getting in and out of the parking for the place was difficult even when the place was no where near full. We had to park with the Grocery store one evening.

It took over an hour for me to check in and I was ...

It took over an hour for me to check in and I was one of the first to complete check-in. When we arrived they took our name and said they would call us when the room was ready, but instead just started randomly giving times out as people went and complained about how long check in was taking. their parking lot was too small to accommodate all the guests and the rooms are much smaller and far more dated than the photos indicated. The staff seemed like they had no idea what was going on with anything and then said I would be charged for my entire stay if I cancelled. <br/>It claims to be "downtown" but it's not walking distance to anything and has terrible views. I absolutely suggest against staying here

Great people

Great people
Clean room
Bright and fresh lobby area

My experience was a mixed one. The staff (Angeliqu...

My experience was a mixed one. The staff (Angelique & Daniqua) were extremely warm, welcoming and accommodating at check in and throughout our stay. The rooms were average with no buffer to the constant construction next door that went on very early in the a.m. to late at night. We were also under the impression (told to us from staff before arriving) there was a shuttle service the hotel ran to downtown and this was not the case. It was in fact, a public bus that was not out front. There was a new Publix market nearby that was convenient. In the end we ran into some minor issues that the manager Julia was happy to correct for us.

Kindest personnel ever!! Everyone we came in cont...

Kindest personnel ever!! Everyone we came in contact with went out of their way to make sure we were having a good stay. Our hats off to Ebony, Jazzy, Alicia and Mr Donald. Thank you for making us feel so welcome!!

I've never liked this place but it's relatively ch...

I've never liked this place but it's relatively cheap. We were here 9 days and our room was never cleaned. We asked several times. Free buffet anywhere doesn't include preservative free bacon, ( I'm allergic to nitrites and sulfites.) So imagine what it's like to have instant grits while everyone around you is enjoying bacon. The lobby smells bad. Etc.

You can't walk to the centre from here and it's ki...

You can't walk to the centre from here and it's kind of nestled in between a few freeway ramps and busy intersections. It does have an outdoor pool though which is what we wanted. It's a small one. After 3 days of the HI express the breakfast starts to suck. I'd give this 3.5 stars though.

Hundreds of ratings, 1st time giving a 1star! A/C ...

Hundreds of ratings, 1st time giving a 1star! A/C was broken, TV didn't work, room was dirty and didn't have adequate lighting!
Front desk staff was very poorly trained to top it off. For the record, I am a priority club member. This is NOT how the normal Holiday Inn is!!

I was there working for a contractor who was clean...

I was there working for a contractor who was cleaning the air conditioners in about 25 hotel rooms this place is overrated it is definitely not a five star hotel it is a glorified Motel even though they have free breakfast but the people that work there seem to be very intelligent and helpful

We stayed three nights. The room was kept very cle...

We stayed three nights. The room was kept very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very nice looking with clean white bed linen and a flat screen TV. We had a lovely river view too. Breakfast was good but we would have liked more in the way of fresh fruit. We will stay here next visit to Charleston.

Service was non existent. Asked for conditioner an...

Service was non existent. Asked for conditioner and towels. Eventually I got them after walking to the front. Room was not cleaned when asked to do so. Breakfast was pretty tasty but the girl serving wonder off frequently and would prep an area before serving hot food to the customer. Multiple mornings she would yell at anyone serving themselves but walk off for us to fend for ourselves. Staff was mostly pleasant but did not follow through with request. I doubt we will return, if I have to pay a little more to get service elsewhere I will.

While on a family vacation my father had a heart a...

While on a family vacation my father had a heart attack and needed to stay a couple of days at Roper Hospital to get stents placed in his heart. Our vacation rental could not be extended so we were forced to find a hotel room near the hospital. This was a little challenging as we had a toddler and small dog with us. We found this hotel and booked two rooms to accommodate the whole family. When I talked to the booking agent he assured me that we could check out as late at 6pm as we were leaving that night for NY. When we arrived we had no shower curtain in either room. I tried to call the front office but no response. I ended up having to go to the front desk 3 times before we got one. When we left for dinner that night my toddler ran ahead of us and we caught her poking her head in the OPEN laundry shoot. The next morning I went to my father's hospital bed and decided to check to make sure that we had our late check out. They said absolutely not and that we had to be out by noon! What were we to do? We had a dog and a toddler that we could not drive around in the SC heat all day. They told us that our only option was to pay for another night that we wouldn't be using. When I asked to speak to the manager in person I was told that she was not available. I asked for her to call me and she never did. In response from the hotel said that the issue was resolved to my satisfaction. This is just a bold face lie. They did nothing to resolve the issue other than charge us another $100 for a night at the hotel that we were not using so that my daughter and dog didn't have to spend 4 hours in a hot car!

The staff here is amazing! Everyone was so accommo...

The staff here is amazing! Everyone was so accommodating and helpful, rooms were clean and the hotel itself smelled so fresh inside. My son even lost a bag we couldn't locate it before having to leave. Well housekeeping found it and they called us immediately. They even locked it up for us until we could get back to that location. If I needed to stay in this area again, this hotel would be my first choice.

I love the staff there very friendly. David is in...

I love the staff there very friendly. David is incredible boss. When I was there I notice there would be one person at the front desk when three or more people up there at once rose come up there to help. They help one another

Rooms are relatively clean with only minor issues....

Rooms are relatively clean with only minor issues. Rooms are blessedly quiet (no noise from other rooms) and easy to maintain comfortable temperature, though the in-room AC is kind of loud. Within walking distance to a public park/fishing pier on the Ashley river, as well as to a grocery store. Convenient stay near both MUSC and Shawn Jenkins Childrens' Hospital. Due to the ongoing coronavirus the typical continental breakfast is still suspended, though the front desk is still offering options like bagels, muffins, etc. The rooms are also equipped with Keurig coffee machines so that's a definite plus. All in all, would recommend.

we booked this room a month in advance. we got her...

we booked this room a month in advance. we got here after a 12 hour drive, 3 hours after check in and they asked if we needed what we had booked they then gave us 2 towels, knowing there was 3 of us and gave us attitude when we asked for more towels. they proceeded to give us pool towels instead of bath towels. the elevator is broken, the ice machine is broken, and the staff is not helpful. The key card didn t work either and they charged us $10 extra. the stairwell which is required to take since the elevator is broken and takes about 10 minutes to come, is very tight and musty. overall one of the more disappointing hotels i ve stayed in.

Holiday Inn Express- Downtown Charleston

Holiday Inn Express- Downtown Charleston

3.4